MEO Network Group

Medical Education Officers

Medical Education Officers (MEOs) form an expanding profession both in Western Australia (WA) and nationally. MEOs are from varied backgrounds and the role has become an integral part of the pre-vocational junior doctor’s education and training experience. The MEO Network group provides an opportunity for collaboration and networking with other sites.

The Postgraduate Medical Council of WA provides support to assist learning and training requirements and facilitates sharing of resources and ideas, which enable MEOs to carry out their responsibilities at a high standard. The Network Group meets four times a year and receives secretariat support from PMCWA.

 

MEOs support and organise the orientation, education, training, mentoring and supervision of junior medical officers in addition to providing organisational, strategic and management support to the Department of Postgraduate Medical Education. However due to the various settings in which pre-vocational medical education takes place, the role and responsibilities of the MEO vary slightly from hospital to hospital. The following document outlines the general duties and responsibilities of an MEO (PDF 34KB).

Hospital / Health Service  Contact Details MEO/s
Armadale Hospital Claire.Grant@health.wa.gov.au Ms Claire Grant
Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services Michelle.Spies@health.wa.gov.au Ms Michelle Spies
Fiona Stanley Hospital fsh.meu@health.wa.gov.au Ms Erin Furness
Ms Kylie Reed
Mr Jon Oldham
Ms Nerinda Bradshaw
Fremantle Hospital fh.meu@health.wa.gov.au
Hollywood Private Hospital OwenK@ramsayhealth.com.au Ms Kelly Owen
Joondalup Health Campus pgme.jhc@ramsayhealth.com.au Ms Michelle Karsdorp
King Edward Memorial Hospital Nicholas.Bennett@health.wa.gov.au Mr Nick Bennett
Osborne Park Hospital Cally.Smith@health.wa.gov.au Ms Cally Smith
Peel Health Campus Larmours@ramsayhealth.com.au Ms Sam Larmour
Perth Children’s Hospital PMH.PGME@health.wa.gov.au Mr Robert Evans
Rockingham General Hospital Helen.Borrington@health.wa.gov.au Ms Helen Borrington
Royal Perth Hospital Caroline.Bentley@health.wa.gov.au
Erin.Grasso@health.wa.gov.au
Stephanie.Ho@health.wa.gov.au
Ms Caroline Bentley
Ms Erin Grasso
Ms Stephanie Ho
Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital Trish.Li@health.wa.gov.au Ms Trish Li
St John of God – Midland Angela.Wiley@sjog.org.au
Emma.Love@sjog.org.au
Ms Angela Wiley
Ms Emma Love
St John of God – Mt Lawley Hannah.Toriainen@sjog.org.au Ms Hannah Toriainen
St John of God – Murdoch Kelly.Mitchell@sjog.org.au Ms Kelly Mitchell
St John of God – Subiaco Michelle.Harvey@sjog.org.au Ms Michelle Harvey
WA Country Health Service pmeu@health.wa.gov.au Ms Suzanne Wood
Ms Joanne Scammell
Ms Vicki Daily
Ms Helen Butterfield

Please note, the details of the MEOs at the regional sites can be obtained by contacting the WA Country Health Service.